Representative sign (2)

Representative sign and orbital period

There are 10 planets in Thai Astrology. Every one of them orbits around the earth within the ecliptic.

(The observant on earth collects the statistical data according to their perspective on the planets orbiting around them.)

Each planet is represented by a symbol and has different orbital period.

The Sun – number 1, orbital period 30 days (other names Ravi, Suriya).

The Moon – number 2, orbital period 2.5 days.

Mars – number 3, orbital period 45 days (other names Bhumma, Bhummesh).

Mercury – number 4, orbital period 30 days.

Jupiter – number 5, orbital period 1 year (other names Jiva, Jivo, Guru).

Venus – number 6, orbital period 30 days.

Saturn – number 7, orbital period 2.5 years (other name Soraa).

Rahu – number 8, orbital period 1.5 year (other names Asurin, Asura)

Ketu – number 9, orbital period 2 months.

Uranus – number 0, orbital period 7 years.

Representative sign and orbital period. It is important to remember it.

The Ruling planet

Every planet except Rahu (8), Ketu (9) and Uranus (0), together they rule all 12 zodiac signs (in their own houses).

Each of them can be called a “Ruling planet”.

There are some ruling planets that rule over two houses: Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn.

(Saturn (7) has its Domicile (Own House) in Capricorn and Aquarius but has only one ruling house, Capricorn).

Sometimes the orbiting period for a planet becomes unusual (except the Sun (1) and the Moon (2)).

If it is faster than usual, it’s called “pro-grade”. If it is slower than usual or moving backward, it’s called “retrograde”.

If it gets slower for a period of time and then start moving backward or stay put for a longer period than usual, it’s called “stationary”.

(The real orbital path is an ellipse around the Sun. Therefore, the observation on earth differs from reality.

The planet seems to orbit fast, slow or stay put while it orbits very far away from the Earth, on the opposite side of the solar system.)

Each planet has an orbital path that is independent from each other.

They orbit around the earth counter-clockwise except for Rahu (8) and Ketu (9) which orbit clockwise.

Whatever planet is near the earth; its zodiac space is narrowed. Therefore, orbiting past that zodiac space will be quick.

On the contrary, a planet that is far away from earth has a larger zodiac space.

Therefore, orbiting past that zodiac space takes longer time than the ones that are near the earth.

Of all the 10 planets, only 7 of them are real planets.

While 3 of them are imaginary planets just for the purpose of increasing the predicting precision.

It is considered as a trait of Thai astrology which we invented them.


These 3 planets are: Rahu (8) which originates from the eclipse of the earth, it has counterclockwise orbital path which is the opposite of the other planets’ orbital paths.

Ketu (9) has also counterclockwise orbital path.

Uranus (0) orbits clockwise the same as other planets.

<< Previous Chapter Next Chapter >>

Visits: 1
Spread the love

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *